Cauliflower gets a lift in Garden Lites frozen soufflé

Garden Lites Cauliflower Soufflé

Garden Lites Cauliflower Soufflé

Product: Garden Lites Cauliflower Soufflé – $3.49+

Soufflés are the bane of chefs everywhere.  Why?  Because they can be so finicky when you cook them.  And, at most restaurants, if you want a soufflé for dessert, they ask that you place that order when you order your entrees because it does take time to whip up and bake to perfection.  And…you have to act fast, because that airy lift in soufflés can disappear quickly and you don’t want to serve a collapsing soufflé to a paying patron.

But then, a company called Garden Lites introduced a new line of frozen entrees – the vegetable soufflé.  Coming in six varieties (of which, all have made it into my freezer), these light, airy frozen packages bring the glory of the soufflé to your microwave.

I spotted these while at Fresh Market (and again at Whole Foods) one day while grocery shopping for some gluten-free goodies.  And, yes…every one of the six selections are vegetarian and gluten-free.  So…I snagged them all.

Tonight, for dinner, I decided to cook one up.  My weapon of choice tonight – the Cauliflower Soufflé.  It was going to make the perfect mini-meal.  Extremely mini, though, as I read only the front of the box when I grabbed one of each.   The wording said there was only 140 calories persoufflé, so I assumed there was at least two in the box.  WRONG!  There is only one, so my roommate and I split it for dinner and I baked up a side of Ore Ida Extra Crispy Tater Tots to go with it.  Purchasers…take note.  One box = one soufflé.

Garden Lites Cauliflower Soufflé (frozen)

Garden Lites Cauliflower Soufflé (frozen)

Anyway…aside from my own error in not turning the box over and looking at the number of servings per package, I found this to be a rather surprising, tasty, and filling (even at half a soufflé) meal.  It doesn’t get much easier.  Heat up tray in microwave, in overwrap, for 4 minutes.  Let sit for one minute.  Then heat at half power for another minute.  Serve.  Simple, yes?  Oh…yes.

My biggest concern with this was that it was going to be runny and watery and just…wrong.  But it slid from its bowl easily after I nuked it according to package instructions.  And, as my microwave is really, really old, I ran it longer than instructed.  It was still a bit frozen in the middle after I sliced it in half, so back into the microwave for another 30 seconds and…voula…done!  Pair it with the tots and there was dinner.

I was quite impressed with the light texture that accompanied the soufflé upon reheating in the microwave.  The Cauliflower Soufflé, a mix of egg whites, spices, cauliflower, carrots, potato and onion tasted a lot like a pot pie, to be honest.  Just a lighter, non-crusty pot-pie.  It was, surprisingly, very delicious.  I enjoyed every bite I took from it, tasting the various vegetables that were used in the creation of this soufflé.  I mean, it doesn’t puff up like a real soufflé would, but it doesn’t need to.  It’s good just the way it warms up.

Color me impressed.

I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did.  But it heated up nice in the microwave, it was light, it was filling, and it was delicious.  Score one for the soufflés.  If you like cauliflower, I recommend trying this delicious treat by Garden Lites.  It’s gluten-free, vegetarian yum!

 

Leave a Reply

